Home
Links
Contact Us
Home
Guides
Forum
Search
RSS
the site
November 21, 2008, 04:33:58 PM
Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
Did you miss your
activation email?
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
News
: Moving to New Location Soon! Watch out for notification. 14th Dec 2007.
Home
Help
Search
Calendar
Login
Register
My PC Hell Forum
>
Welcome To The Forum
>
Forum Help
(Moderator:
Essexboy
) >
the site
Pages: [
1
]
2
« previous
next »
Print
Author
Topic: the site (Read 4604 times)
Strum
Royal Advisor
Posts: 1791
Gabba Gabba Hey!
the site
«
on:
October 15, 2005, 06:43:48 PM »
When I copy the link from an email alert from this forum and paste it into the browser (google) I get the following message...
Now I know my system is clean and tidy as far as viruses etc go, so how is this happening and why? does anybody know?
Also I clicked on a link to a thread earlier and just kept getting this....
Was this thread deleted or what?
Strum
Logged
This is my shadows shadow...
thedon57
Welcome to Fixmyxp.com the go ahead computer forum.
Royal Advisor
Posts: 1177
World Class Diva 2 No 1's and a No 1 Album
the site
«
Reply #1 on:
October 15, 2005, 06:58:35 PM »
Strum have not got the one from google, what thread was it let me know and i will check
Logged
windowsxp550
Administrator
Posts: 932
the site
«
Reply #2 on:
October 16, 2005, 03:22:43 AM »
Strum, I Downloaded the entire Forum, and ran a spychecker scan on it, and found 1 infected File.
It was the Smiley image for "Sorry.gif" (located in the new smileys). It came up as Hotbar spyware (?? not sure why)..Anyhow, I immediately deleted this file from the server.
Logged
TAGGING!!! New Feature Added to FixMyXP!
Click HERE to Read all about it
windowsxp550
Administrator
Posts: 932
the site
«
Reply #3 on:
October 16, 2005, 03:29:05 AM »
Another find.
I found some weird looking files in the main Forum folder. Although these did not register as spyware, I did remove them anyways since they were never there before and they look suspicious...:
File Name -- File Type -- File Size
core.11911 - 11911 File - 36,176 kb
core.12267 - 12267 File - 35,832 kb
core.21964 - 21964 File - 36,316 kb
The rest of the files in the folder are File Type: PHP File, so these looked bizarre (plus they are huge files). Perhaps someone attacked the server and placed these files onto my server.
At any rate, I have deleted these and have removed the spyware...let me know if you still get the same error message from Google.
Logged
TAGGING!!! New Feature Added to FixMyXP!
Click HERE to Read all about it
Strum
Royal Advisor
Posts: 1791
Gabba Gabba Hey!
the site
«
Reply #4 on:
October 16, 2005, 07:04:39 AM »
Hi Jason, I'm afraid I still get the same message. Its fine if I just click on the link, or paste it into IE, its only if I paste it into Google thet I get the message. It doesn't bother me I'm just letting you know.
Strum
Logged
This is my shadows shadow...
windowsxp550
Administrator
Posts: 932
the site
«
Reply #5 on:
October 16, 2005, 09:44:24 AM »
Strum,
I am getting that error message too. I believe that it has something to do with the fact that the forum is locked to guests. So when you have logged into FixmyXP forum and you copy a link, it is a working link with the condition that you are logged in. Anyhow, this is nothing unusual in my opinion. I also did some searching on Google, here is what I found:
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=%22google+error%22+%2B+Spyware+%2B+virus&btnG=Google+Search
Logged
TAGGING!!! New Feature Added to FixMyXP!
Click HERE to Read all about it
Squeezebox
Administrator
Posts: 2756
the site
«
Reply #6 on:
October 16, 2005, 10:09:37 AM »
I lifted this from one of the links on the Google search. Seems to be the relevant answer:
There once was a worm using google to exploit PhpBB forums, so google denies the search string. If you just use "by phpbb 2.0.15" or some other search string, you should get the same results though.
SQ
Logged
windowsxp550
Administrator
Posts: 932
the site
«
Reply #7 on:
October 16, 2005, 11:19:11 AM »
nice work SQ... I hadnt even seen that
Logged
TAGGING!!! New Feature Added to FixMyXP!
Click HERE to Read all about it
Strum
Royal Advisor
Posts: 1791
Gabba Gabba Hey!
the site
«
Reply #8 on:
October 16, 2005, 04:47:30 PM »
Yep, that all makes sense, especially the link being as you say, as if I'm logged in.
Cheers
Strum
What about the other error message? It was from bobs shared files page.
Logged
This is my shadows shadow...
Daisy
Rising Star
Posts: 311
the site
«
Reply #9 on:
October 16, 2005, 04:53:18 PM »
...SQ is that something to do with those we scary bots again LOL :bombsmiley:
Logged
Squeezebox
Administrator
Posts: 2756
the site
«
Reply #10 on:
October 16, 2005, 05:37:33 PM »
Blowed if Eye know Daisy - just in case Eye am keeping my bot to the bulkhead.
SQ [nervous now]
Logged
Cache
Rising Star
Posts: 380
the site
«
Reply #11 on:
October 17, 2005, 03:23:02 PM »
Quote from: Squeezebox
Blowed if Eye know Daisy - just in case Eye am keeping my bot to the bulkhead.
SQ [nervous now]
Whats your bot for, is it just a crawler?
Logged
Daisy
Rising Star
Posts: 311
the site
«
Reply #12 on:
October 17, 2005, 04:22:57 PM »
hi cache, yes that was what I was talking about - I learned about bots some time ago from a mutal friend with SQ LOL, and I find it all very spooky these things crawling around the net...I mean? Do they have form? LOL....I find it quite scary too :bashfulsmiley:
Logged
Strum
Royal Advisor
Posts: 1791
Gabba Gabba Hey!
the site
«
Reply #13 on:
October 17, 2005, 04:31:25 PM »
Quote from: Daisy
hi cache, yes that was what I was talking about - I learned about bots some time ago from a mutal friend with SQ LOL, and I find it all very spooky these things crawling around the net...I mean? Do they have form? LOL....I find it quite scary too :bashfulsmiley:
They're EVERYWHERE!!!! OOOOOooooooooooohh!
Logged
This is my shadows shadow...
Cache
Rising Star
Posts: 380
the site
«
Reply #14 on:
October 17, 2005, 04:31:48 PM »
Quote from: Daisy
hi cache, yes that was what I was talking about - I learned about bots some time ago from a mutal friend with SQ LOL, and I find it all very spooky these things crawling around the net...I mean? Do they have form? LOL....I find it quite scary too :bashfulsmiley:
Hehe. No they have no discernable form. Nothing to be concerned about either! they are just scripts being run froma server. Without them google wouldnt know about anything on the net, and then where would we be? reading books? noooo!! lol.
Logged
Pages: [
1
]
2
Print
« previous
next »
Jump to:
Please select a destination:
-----------------------------
Welcome To The Forum
-----------------------------
=> Forum Rules
=> Introductions
=> Forum Help
=> News and Announcements
-----------------------------
Windows XP Assistance
-----------------------------
=> General Problems
=> Installation, Startup or Shutdown Problems
=> Internet and Networking
=> Multimedia, Audio, Video
=> Programs & Applications
=> Hardware & Plug-in Equipment
=> Security-Virus/Spyware
=> FixMyXP Article Discussion Room
=> Tips & Tricks
-----------------------------
Other Operating Systems
-----------------------------
=> Windows Vista
=> All Other Operating Systems
-----------------------------
Chat (Off Topic)
-----------------------------
=> Tech Talk
Loading...