Internet explorer bug.

This section is for XP operating system problems and requests for help.
Post Reply
numberoneshaqfan
New FixmyXP Member
New FixmyXP Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:34 pm

Internet explorer bug.

Post by numberoneshaqfan » Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:38 pm

Hey folks, new to the system. Found the site due to having this problem.
I'll be on a site and click a hyper link and either it will pop in a new window and come straight up blank or not even pop up at all.
Sometimes if I reboot IE it will work but happen again. Most times I have to reboot the whole system.
It's mostly after my computer has been on for awhile and I come back to it.
But anyway, it's annoying, lol
If anyone knows a fix, it would be appreciated.
Thanks

Squeezebox
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1647
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: UK

Re: Internet explorer bug.

Post by Squeezebox » Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:54 pm

Try clearing out your temporary internet files, it might be all you need to do.
Image

numberoneshaqfan
New FixmyXP Member
New FixmyXP Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:34 pm

Re: Internet explorer bug.

Post by numberoneshaqfan » Sat Jun 30, 2007 4:49 am

I don't think it's that because I use Window Washer all the time...

windowsxp550
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 851
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 9:26 pm
Location: Twin Cities - Minnesota
Contact:

Re: Internet explorer bug.

Post by windowsxp550 » Sat Jun 30, 2007 5:35 am

What do you have for Antivirus/Firewall protection?  Chances are, that it is your firewall that is doing this.

numberoneshaqfan
New FixmyXP Member
New FixmyXP Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:34 pm

Re: Internet explorer bug.

Post by numberoneshaqfan » Sun Jul 01, 2007 3:38 am

windowsxp550 wrote: What do you have for Antivirus/Firewall protection?   Chances are, that it is your firewall that is doing this.


I'm using Microsofts default firewall and AVG anti virus. But how could it be that if I've had it all this time with no problems?

windowsxp550
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 851
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 9:26 pm
Location: Twin Cities - Minnesota
Contact:

Re: Internet explorer bug.

Post by windowsxp550 » Sun Jul 01, 2007 5:02 am

The firewall could have received a new rule (could have been done accidentally)..

Regardless, I would really suggest that you start using Firefox anyhow.  Firefox is WAAAY better than Internet Explorer.  It's faster and over time you will notice far less issues than with Internet Explorer.  Plus it is free, so you really can't go wrong. 

You can get Firefox here:  http://www.getfirefox.com

User avatar
malvachat
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:24 am
Location: Oxford(UK)

Re: Internet explorer bug.

Post by malvachat » Sun Jul 01, 2007 10:08 am

Simply the best

Image
Beer is for life not just Christmas Image
Image

Post Reply