device driver error = BSOD

This section is for XP operating system problems and requests for help.
spaldini101
Contributor
Contributor

device driver error = BSOD

Post by spaldini101 » Sun Nov 11, 2007 5:43 pm

Every once in awhile... like once every 2 weeks or so I get the BSOD saying that the shutdown was caused by a device driver error/problem. How do I figure out exactly what's causing this and how to fix it. I'm a total novice at this and also can't figure out how to do a search of this site to get info on this, since I'm sure this must be a often asked question... sorry. I'm also getting the little yellow exclamation point thing in the lower left hand corner saying stuff like "donr but with error" of w/ "done" or "error on page"... what's that all about?
Last edited by spaldini101 on Sun Nov 11, 2007 5:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Squeezebox
Administrator
Administrator

Re: device driver error = BSOD

Post by Squeezebox » Sun Nov 11, 2007 6:57 pm

To answer your questions one at a time:

1. BSOD - we need to know what error is reported, so make a note of the details when it next happens and let us know.

2. There is a search button at the top of the forum page (below the main title). Use that to search - and make sure your search criteria has the right key words in it.

3. Your browser may not have loaded all the page components. If you are able to use the site properly, nothing obvious missing, I would ignore it.

spaldini101
Contributor
Contributor

Post by spaldini101 » Sun Nov 11, 2007 8:14 pm

Well... maybe I should disable the auto-restart? ... the info disappears on the BSOD before I can look at it (not that I would know what any of it means).  The only info I get is on the Microsoft error reprting page, that says the problem was caused by a device driver.

spaldini101
Contributor
Contributor

Post by spaldini101 » Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:56 pm