HELP!!

This section is for XP operating system problems and requests for help.
Post Reply
etc123
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 11:40 am

HELP!!

Post by etc123 » Fri Nov 30, 2007 11:45 am

Hi, when vista RC1 first came out i installed it, thought it was crap, so i un-installed it. All well and good but at the time i was duel-booting it with xp, now after going back to xp and merging my hard drive partitions back from 2 into 1 when i boot i still have to choose between xp and vista, which is annoying as THERE IS NO VISTA ON THERE


i've tried this:

goto control panel > system and select the adavnced tab > startup and recovery

Select xp as your default operating system and uncheck
time to display a list of operating systems.

but no luck



pls help

Squeezebox
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1647
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: UK

Re: HELP!!

Post by Squeezebox » Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:33 pm

Go to Start/Run - and type msconfig in the box.

Check the Boot.INI tab - are there references to Vista left in the boot.ini file?

Delete them. As a guide, my boot.ini has this:

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
Image

etc123
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 11:40 am

Re: HELP!!

Post by etc123 » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:02 pm

this is what it looks like on my computer:


;
;Warning: Boot.ini is used on Windows XP and earlier operating systems.
;Warning: Use BCDEDIT.exe to modify Windows Vista boot options.
;
[boot loader]
timeout=0
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /FASTDETECT /NOEXECUTE=OPTIN /TUTag=C6JJ3O /Kernel=TUKernel.exe
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional (TuneUp Backup)" /FASTDETECT /NOEXECUTE=OPTIN /TUTag=C6JJ3O-BAK

Squeezebox
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1647
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: UK

Re: HELP!!

Post by Squeezebox » Fri Nov 30, 2007 5:40 pm

I've never installed Vista with dual boot, so this is slightly 'out of my jurisdiction'. Your boot.ini file has bits in it left from Vista, plus it refers to TUTag=C6JJ3O /Kernel=TUKernel.exe.

tukernel.exe
    TUKERNEL.EXE is Trojan/Backdoor.
    Kill the process TUKERNEL.EXE and remove TUKERNEL.EXE from Windows startup

You might like to wait for for Essexboy to pop in and offer advice, an analysis of your system might be in order.
Last edited by Squeezebox on Fri Nov 30, 2007 5:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

etc123
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 11:40 am

Re: HELP!!

Post by etc123 » Sat Dec 01, 2007 3:09 am

ok thanks for your help, i'll wait.

Essexboy
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 903
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:20 am
Location: Helston - Cornwall
Contact:

Re: HELP!!

Post by Essexboy » Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:54 pm

Tukernal is also part of tune up utilities - do you have that installed ?

* Click here to download HJTsetup.exe
  • Save HJTsetup.exe to your desktop.
  • Doubleclick on the HJTsetup.exe icon on your desktop.
  • By default it will install to C:\Program Files\Hijack This.
  • Continue to click Next in the setup dialogue boxes until you get to the Select Addition Tasks dialogue.
  • Put a check by Create a desktop icon then click Next again.
  • Continue to follow the rest of the prompts from there.
  • At the final dialogue box click Finish and it will launch Hijack This.
  • Click on the Do a system scan and save a logfile button. It will scan and the log should open in notepad.
  • Click on "Edit > Select All" then click on "Edit > Copy" to copy the entire contents of the log.
  • Come back here to this thread and Paste the log in your next reply.
  • DO NOT have Hijack This fix anything yet. Most of what it finds will be harmless or even required.
VISTA
XPsp2
Avast (of course)
Image


http://spaces.msn.com/members/essexboymkn/

If ignorance is bliss  why aren't more people happy?

etc123
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 11:40 am

Re: HELP!!

Post by etc123 » Mon Dec 03, 2007 2:15 am

i have removed that malware, can any one else suggest a solution to my boot problem?

etc123
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 11:40 am

Re: HELP!!

Post by etc123 » Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:28 am

its startin anoy me avin to select xp on each boot, surly sumone else has had this problem....

pls help  :yworried:

Squeezebox
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1647
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: UK

Re: HELP!!

Post by Squeezebox » Wed Dec 05, 2007 8:52 am

Have you done what Essexboy told you to do?
You should have posted a log here for analysis.

Does your boot.ini look any different now?
Last edited by Squeezebox on Wed Dec 05, 2007 8:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Essexboy
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 903
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:20 am
Location: Helston - Cornwall
Contact:

Re: HELP!!

Post by Essexboy » Fri Dec 07, 2007 4:20 pm

As I am on vista only now I will try to remember how to do this.  Right click my computer and select properties.  Then select the advanced tab. On there will be start up and recovery select this.  Next there should be a button that says something along the lines of check boot path See if that works

If not then select start > run > Fixmbr > enter 
VISTA
XPsp2
Avast (of course)
Image


http://spaces.msn.com/members/essexboymkn/

If ignorance is bliss  why aren't more people happy?

Squeezebox
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1647
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: UK

Re: HELP!!

Post by Squeezebox » Sun Dec 09, 2007 7:52 am

Image
Last edited by Squeezebox on Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

etc123
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 11:40 am

Re: HELP!!

Post by etc123 » Fri Dec 21, 2007 5:06 am

Essexboy wrote: As I am on vista only now I will try to remember how to do this.  Right click my computer and select properties.  Then select the advanced tab. On there will be start up and recovery select this.  Next there should be a button that says something along the lines of check boot path See if that works

If not then select start > run > Fixmbr > enter 
sounds good but when i run fixmbr it says that windows cannot find it

Essexboy
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 903
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:20 am
Location: Helston - Cornwall
Contact:

Re: HELP!!

Post by Essexboy » Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:14 pm

Go start > run and type in msconfig.  Select the BOOT tab and then select check boot paths
VISTA
XPsp2
Avast (of course)
Image


http://spaces.msn.com/members/essexboymkn/

If ignorance is bliss  why aren't more people happy?

Post Reply